Don Halliday Trophy

The Don Halliday Trophy is for outstanding sprinting during the athletic season by a male member (U15) of the club. The winner for the 2007 season is Peter Watling, Midland Youth and Staffordshire Champion. The trophy was presented to him at the club by Councillor Jennifer Cromie on Tuesday 27th November.

Don Halliday, former Scottish International and RAF Association Sprint Champion during the 1970’s, presented it to the club in 1972. He was made a life member of WBAC in 1972, along with fellow internationals Rosemary (Stirling) Wright, Roger Walters, Maureen (Tranter) Lewington, Verona (Bernard) Elder and Ralph Banthorpe.

Many of the previous recipients’ of the trophy have gone on to become international athletes. It was one of many trophies that Don won throughout his career, and was originally won by him in Italy.

Scroll to Top